Working Man Creative | Cricket World Cup History – Past Winners List
single,single-post,postid-21720,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,select-theme-ver-1.9,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.4.3,vc_responsive

Cricket World Cup History – Past Winners List


Cricket World Cup History – Past Winners List

92 West is an Omaha Web Design Agency

The ICC Cricket World Cup history starts from the year 1975 when the first World Cup was held in England. Eight teams participated in that event. West Indies were the winner of the first Cup. The final match took place between West Indies and Australia in which the Windies won by 18 runs. The world then witnessed the second Cricket Cup in the year 1979, once again West Indies emerged as the winners. Final was between West Indies and England. West Indies beat England by 92 runs. That was perhaps the only time England had come so close to winning the coveted Prudential Cup trophy.

The World Cup list includes a total of five winners over the past 36 years. The most amazing victory was India defeating the mighty West Indies in 1983 and go on to take the Cup. It was first time they had won and some other team apart from the Caribbean came to the top of world cricket. After the Australian victory in the much straight-forward 1987 cup, the 1996 ICC Cup held on the pitches of the Subcontinent for the first time, as India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka were the joint hosts. The World Cup history was changed as a new winner was crowned which were surprisingly Sri Lanka. The minnows thus grew up to the same level as the Big Boys. The minnows showed what it takes to beat the best team of the tournament, and they won against Australia by 6 wickets.

The next event was held in England and Australia would be played against Pakistan who was bundled out for a mere 123 by the mighty Australians. This victory marks the reign of Australian Cricket over the world that lasted for almost a decade.

The 2007 world cup was held in West Indies. This again marked another Australian Victory in finals, the third in a row, where the finalists were Sri Lanka. Australia defeated Sri Lanka by 53 runs and announced the domination by a very consistent team. In another two months time, the Cricket World Cup history will be re-written as another team will clinch the title in the Cup That Matters!

Winners Runner Up

1975 WestIndies Australia

1979 WestIndies Australia

1983 India WestIndies

1987 Australia England

1992 Pakistan England

1996 SriLanka Australia

1999 Australia Pakistan

2003 Australia India

2007 Australia Sri Lanka

ICC has announced the schedule of the World Cup 2011 warm-up matches before the main event. There are 13 warm-up matches which will be held from 12th February to 18th February out of which 11 matches are to be held at the Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore and the Chetpet Stadium in Chennai. Two others are in Sri Lanka both of which will be only day matches. The schedule is that every team is playing around 2 matches against every other team. It’s a format where the teams are allowed to pick up players at their will so there are around 15 players for every team. The world cup warm-up matches will of course have no bearing on the results of the main event, but will be important for mental preparation by all the teams.

92 West | Branding + Strategy + Web Design

92 West is a branding, digital marketing, web design and advertising agency focused on helping brands discover their true voice and sense of purpose; genuinely inspiring audiences.

Have a project or new idea? Let's Talk.

branding + omaha advertising agency + digital marketing + graphic design
omaha web design + search engine optimization + mobile apps